Young Architects 14

No Precedent


     5 × 7 in (12.7 × 17.8 cm)
176 pages
350 color illustrations
Rights: World
ISBN: 9781616891053

The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, series of lectures, and exhibition organized by the nArchitectural League of New York and its Young Architects'and Designers Committee.

2012 marked the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Architectural League Prize for Young Designers and Architects. Each year up-and-coming architects are recognized for excellent and inspiring work. This year's theme, No Precedent, reflects the perception of young architects as a self-defining generation driven by the desire to be heard and unwilling to either wait their turn or to follow in others' footsteps. They are quick to cast aside unfit precedents, codes, and rules. Their work is suggestive, speculative, and on the brink, neither here nor there, but fodder for the future. The projects in Young Architects 14 investigate what it takes to create something without precedent and how this influences the way designers work and what they produce.
Winners include:
  • Jorge Arvizu, Ignacio del Rio, Emmanuel Ramirez, and Diego Ricalde of MMX Studio (Mexico City)
  • Jimenez Lai of Bureau Spectacular (Chicago)
  • Sean Lally of WEATHERS/ Sean Lally (Chicago)
  • Seung Teak Lee and Mi Jung Lim of STPMJ (Brooklyn)
  • Michael Szivos of SOFTlab (New York)
  • Koji Tsutsui of Koji Tsutsui & Associates (San Francisco and Tokyo)

Reader Comments


Related Titles