Young Architects 13

It's Different

Architectural League of New York, The

     5 × 7 in (12.7 × 17.8 cm)
176 pages
350 color illustrations
Publication date: 6/12/2012
Rights: World
ISBN: 9781616890575

The Architectural League Prize is an annual competition, series of lectures, and exhibition organized by the Architectural League and its Young Architects and Designers Committee. This year's theme, It's Different, alludes to the fact that every generation of designers thinks it is special, new, and different and ours is no exception. What perhaps may make the claim stronger for the current generation are the circumstances: global networking and integration, economic and security crises, environmental catastrophe and activism, and virtual revolution and physical stagnation. Against these challenges, the committee posited that the future will operate on a wholly different paradigm. Architects were asked, What is the new role of the designer? Competition winners include, Ajmal Aqtash, Richard Sarrach, Tamaki Uchikawa, Unchung Na, Sorae YooKiel, William O'Brien Jr., Catie Newell, Jason Kelly Johnson, and Nataly Gattegno.

Reader Comments


Related Titles